Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

Otto Junker Prize Award 2023

November 24th, 2023 | by
Three female laureates, holding certificates, in a row in front of three male officials. All the people are standing in the stairwell in front of the university auditorium.

In front, from left: Prizewinners Lina Fischer, Alba Clemente Sánchez and Kathrina Theisen. At the back, from left: Wolfgang Bleck, Udo von Berg and Ulrich Rüdiger.

Lina Fischer, a doctoral student at the Chair of Transmission Networks and Energy Economics at the IAEW, is one of three winners of the Otto Junker Prize for excellent academic performance.

The Otto Junker Prizes were recently awarded to three impressive graduates of RWTH Aachen University in a festive ceremony. Lina Fischer, Alba Clemente Sánchez and Kathrina Theisen were honored for their outstanding academic achievements.

The awards, named after the founder of the Otto Junker Foundation, Dr. Otto Junker, are presented annually to exceptional graduates of the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology and the Materials Science and Engineering Group in the Faculty of Georesources and Materials Engineering. The foundation, established in 1970, is dedicated to promoting young scientists and supports numerous individual projects.

The award ceremony took place during a festive event at which Udo vom Berg, Chairman of the Otto Junker Foundation, and RWTH Rector Ulrich Rüdiger personally presented the awards. Professor emeritus Wolfgang Bleck, Chairman of the Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Board, joined in the congratulations.

Lina Fischer, born in Bruchsal in 1998, enrolled for a Bachelor’s degree in Industrial Engineering and Management with a specialization in Electrical Power Engineering at RWTH Aachen University after graduating from high school. She completed her Master’s degree with a thesis on “The impact of flexible consumers on market pricing in a renewable electricity supply system” at the Chair of Transmission Networks and Energy Economics under the supervision of Professor Albert Moser. Since the beginning of 2023, Fischer has been working on his doctorate at the RWTH Institute for Electrical Systems and Grids, Digitization and Energy Economics.

Alba Clemente Sánchez impressed the jury with her master’s thesis on the development of a digital twin for the optimization and online control of a continuous steel casting process. Kathrina Theisen was honored for her master’s thesis entitled: “Design investigations for glass tank simulation”.

The impressive achievements of these three graduates not only underline their individual excellence, but also honor RWTH Aachen University as an educational institution for brilliant personalities. We congratulate Lina Fischer, Alba Clemente Sánchez and Kathrina Theisen on this well-deserved recognition and wish them continued success on their promising career paths.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *