IT Center Blog

A high-performance alliance
Association for National High Performance Computing founded

September 10th, 2021 | by
Eight men smile at the camera

The representatives of the founding members (from left to right): Dr. Thorsten Reimann, Prof. Gerhard Wellein, Prof. Wolfgang Nagel, Prof. Ramin Yahyapour, Prof. Christof Schütte, Prof. Martin Frank, Prof. Christian Plessl, Prof. Matthias S. Müller

On August 23, 2021, eight computing centers of universities or university alliances came together and founded the Association for National High Performance Computing – NHR-Verein e. V..

The association ensures coordination among each other and the supra-regional, sustainable and resource-efficient use of computing capacity and expertise. The foundation of the association focuses on the achievement of essential goals in National High Performance Computing (NHR).



Through NHR, technical and methodological strengths of high-performance computing centers are further developed in a national network. In this way, researchers will be able to access computing capacity throughout Germany, regardless of their location, and in line with their needs. The federal and state governments are thus responding to the growing demand for scientific computing and to the requirements of an increasingly digitized science.

The NHR-Verein e. V. ensures a fair, science-led national allocation procedure for computing time. In addition, the methodological competence of scientists from a wide range of application areas is being strengthened, training and further education in high-performance computing is being made possible, new competencies are being developed, and thus the performance of scientific computing in Germany is being ensured in the long term.

RWTH Aachen University is represented within the association by Prof. Matthias Müller, Professor of High Performance Computing and Head of the IT Center at RWTH Aachen University.

Further information is available in the official press release.

Responsible for the content of this article are Svenja Wimmers and Janin Vreydal.

Comments are closed.